Superbowl Excitement and Good Reads

This past weekend was pretty much dedicated to football and catching up on sleep. I was my best pregnant 12th man on Sunday and watched my Seahawks play an awesome game against the 49ers to become the NFC Champs, now on their way to the SUPER BOWL!! It was a relaxing weekend, without too much excitement, which is exactly what I needed. I’m finding myself more tired these days, as I approach 34 weeks of pregnancy, so while I am still moving right along through my list of things I want to accomplish before Casey gets here I definitely need my down time to recuperate my energy.

Towards the end of last week, I got inspired to redecorate our little apartment in preparation for baby’s arrival.  I have a post about the DIY Artwork that I did in the works, but in the meantime I thought I would share a few things I read this weekend that I thought were superb.

Babies Ruin Bodies  – I found this right when I needed it.  It’s a beautifully written article about loving your body for all its perfection in pregnancy.  Warning: you may cry if you are 34 weeks pregnant…or just a woman who has been pregnant…or are just sensitive.  

I Became a Mother, and Died to Live – Even though he hasn’t made his appearance into the world yet, I am most definitely already Casey’s mother.  Motherhood began for me as soon as I saw him as a tiny blip on that ultrasound machine.  I thought this article was well written, funny and profoundly moving.  It’s a great blog to look around in as well- she’s got a unique, unabashedly honest perspective on motherhood and I’m glad she puts it all out there.

Pregnant Chicken 2013 Round-Up – I have followed Pregnant Chicken since I got pregnant and I realized over the weekend that I hadn’t checked it out recently.  Glad I did.  I love the 2013 round-up for its mix of totally, understandably useful and exciting products and..this.  Not that the Otteroo doesnt’ seem like an insanely awesome invention…but watch the video- it had me and Alex cracking up. (Ironically this Pregnant Chicken post also contains links to Babies Ruin Bodies and another article from Renegade Motherhood that is pretty good)

OUTLANDER IS COMING!!!! – Finally, for those of you who know me, you know that I am obsessed with Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series.  I’m eagerly awaiting the release of the 8th book (yes it was on my baby registry) and I’ve read the other 7 books twice in the past 13 months.  I completely plan to read them again, probably aloud to Casey even though he will have no understanding of why Clair and Jamie are so important in his new household (but he might enjoy my attempt at scottish accents.)  Anyway, Starz is making Outlander into a new T.V.  series, which I am totally stoked about!  Check out the sneak peak video and then go read at least the first book…because the books are always better than the movie…er..T.V. show.

Leave a Reply

