Just tell yourself, Duckie, you’re really quite lucky!

Last night our dear friend, Jessica, threw us an amazing baby shower.  She refuses to take all the credit but I want to thank her so much for all of her hard work and enthusiasm in putting such a great party together.  The shower had a Dr. Seuss theme and the community room of our apartment was completely transformed into a Seussian wonderland, complete with Green Eggs & Ham, Inky Pink Drink, a red/blue/yellow candy table, Cat and the Hat shish kabobs, Truffula tree flower decorations and paper banners with pages from “One Fish, Two fish, Red Fish Blue Fish.”  Because we have so many guy friends as well as being friends with other couples, I didn’t want to leave the gentleman out so we had a poker tournament with a $10+package of diapers buy-in!

Everyone seemed to have a great time and I was completely overwhelmed and touched by the generosity of our friends.   Alex and I are not always the most social people and I am always surprised that people like us so much 😉  I am so thankful for the community of people that we have grown close to, especially in the past year or so.  Everyone is so genuinely happy for us; willing to provide us with whatever we need or help us out in any way possible as we begin our journey into parenthood.   Alex, especially, likes to keep things pretty private.  In fact, he didn’t even tell his co-workers (some of who were there last night) that I was pregnant until I was 7 months along!!  So to have such a great group of people show up and literally shower us with gifts and affection last night was really moving.   Below are quite a few of the pictures that were taken last night.

A selection of the AWESOME spread that we had to nosh on.

A selection of the AWESOME spread that we had to nosh on.

Alex and I enjoying out shower.

Alex and I enjoying our shower.

Me and Jessica- one of the most generous and loyal people I know and an awesome party planner!!  I'm so lucky to be able to call her a friend.

Me and Jessica- one of the most generous and loyal people I know and an awesome party planner to boot!! I’m so lucky to be able to call her a friend.

Three wonderful couples who we are lucky enough to call our friends.

Three wonderful couples who we are lucky enough to call our friends.

Alex thinks something is funny as I continue to dig into presents.

Alex thinks something is funny as I continue to dig into presents.

Alex and I showing of some cool gifts.

Showing off some cool gifts- Alex thinks he will need a bigger size 😉

Admiring new onsies.

Admiring new onsies.

I'm so lucky to call this cutie pie mine!

I’m so lucky to call this cutie pie mine!

Alex is showing off some of the items from the "Daddy Duty Kit" he received.  It included diapers, tongs, a mask, goggles, rubber gloves,  and a show of whiskey!

Alex is showing off some of the items from the “Daddy Duty Kit” he received. It included diapers, tongs, a mask, goggles, rubber gloves, and a shot of whiskey!

Posing for pictures in his Daddy Duty gear.

Posing for pictures in his Daddy Duty gear.

The Parents to be- exhausted by the end of the night…at least I was!

The Parents to be- exhausted by the end of the night…at least I was!

Leave a Reply

