I Linger in Chest Time

20140327-122153.jpg

I don’t usually get that inspired to respond to the Daily Prompts but I usually find they are interesting to think about and/or read others’ responses to them.  This one triggered something inside me though.

Daily Prompt: Linger
Tell us about times in which you linger — when you don’t want an event, or a day to end. What is it you love about these times? Why do you wish you could linger forever?

 

I linger in savasana, in chest time, nap time, with him in frog pose, his tiny ear pressed against my bare skin.

My heart beat is the soundtrack to his slumber.

I linger in his hot little body, in his tiny fist resting beneath my breast, in his arm hanging limply across my ribs.

I linger in his soft hair, his sweet scent, those perfect miniature hands complete with tiny knuckles, and tinier, fragile bones.

I linger in his Buddha belly, his perfect inhale/exhale pressing against my own belly,  his breath so much freer than my own.

I linger in his complete trust, in his absolute surrender.

I linger in my love for my son.

More important is this moment than eating or bathing.

I linger in him as he lingers on me.

 

dp: linger

 

Leave a Reply

