Baby Wearing Perfection, etc.

Time is moving on, faster than I feel ready for.  Casey is a month old.  We are moving across the country in less that two weeks.  Our to -do list is slowly whittling down but with every task we accomplish, it feels like three more pop up that we hadn’t thought of.  I’m trying to slowly pack our stuff up in between diaper changes and nursing sessions and stay as organized as possible while doing it.  Colored stickers on each box help keep everything organized as to what room each box should go in when we move them all into the house. It feels like we have so much stuff but I’m anxious to see what it looks like when it’s spread out in a big empty house.  I know it will seem like a lot less when it isn’t crammed into 830 square feet, so while I am trying to get rid of some stuff as I pack, I’m not going completely gung-ho building up our donation pile.

On a lighter note, I am more in love with our little man each day; with each breath he takes.  We invested in a Moby wrap over the weekend.  I really wanted to like the K’tan because it seems so much simpler, with a LOT less fabric, but it just wasn’t working for us.  Perhaps a smaller size would have worked but that would mean returning it and then waiting for the replacement to arrive.  Much easier to make an afternoon out of walking to Target as a family and purchasing the Moby.  Instant gratification and a nice way to spend a couple of hours Saturday afternoon.  AND I have to admit, I am in love with my Moby wrap.  It’s much easier to manage than I had originally thought it would be.  Plus, Casey falls asleep practically the minute he is in it.  I love that he is right against my chest and I feel like he is completely supported, both his body and his head and neck.  Besides, how could I ever complain about looking down at that little face and being able to kiss his cheek whenever I want?!?  So now we’ve found the Baby Wearing Trifecta: The Moby, The Ergo and The Baby Bjorn…who know we would need so many but all three get used pretty equally!

 

moby

Casey has finally started sleeping on his own, in his Graco sleeper.  It was a good move for all of us, even though it was hard to stop co-sleeping because I love being close to him.   But none of us..well I…wasn’t sleeping well.  I was always concerned about having him in bed with us, as comforting as it was to have him right there for midnight feedings (as well as the 2:30, 5 and 7 sessions) so I was physically not moving a lot and not sleeping very deeply.  Each morning I would wake up exhausted with stiff muscles and a sore body.  Anyway, I attribute his being able to sleep on his own to the introduction of the Miracle Blanket, which I read rave reviews about and ordered on Amazon (Thank you to Lori Fox for the GC that paid for it!!).  I’m fairly sure we will be ordering a second one when we are back in IN because it has worked wonders for us and allowed Casey to be more comfortable in his crib, now that his little limbs aren’t flailing out and waking him up.

Snug as a Bug in his Miracle Blanket

Snug as a Bug in his Miracle Blanket

Even though it is a daunting task to move and there are a lot of things I will miss about living in Seattle and the Pacific Northwest, I am getting excited to start our new life and begin to build a true home as a family.  It was almost 70 degrees here yesterday and as I walked the dogs and enjoyed the warm, evening air, I thought about how great it will be to introduce Casey to those beautiful IN evenings- to play in the yard at dusk and see his face the first time he sees a firefly.  I feel so lucky that he will grow up with space to run around, a yard to play in, enjoy cook-outs and parties in, a house to build forts in.  I’m incredibly grateful for the opportunity that has been given to us and for the fact that Casey will be able to grow up in a safe, loving community surrounded by family and friends who will support and foster him as he grows up.

Now here are some pictures 🙂

Our sleeping angel

Our sleeping angel

Just Vogue

Just Vogue

Mini Mohawk

Mini Mohawk

 

At peace with the car seat.

At peace with the car seat.

Chillin in the Boppy

Chillin in the Boppy

Throw my toy, throw my toy, throw my toy...

Throw my toy, throw my toy, throw my toy…

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Baby Wearing Perfection, etc.

  1. Great pictures, Amelia! I’m Heather and I was hoping you would be able to answer a question I have about your blog! My email is Lifesabanquet1(at)gmail(dot)com 🙂

Leave a Reply

