Unable to even finish a load of laundry in a day, I know you’ll forgive me for not writing.

I’ve written multiple drafts for blog posts since we moved.  I do apologize for my absence from this blog- which I planned to so ritually post in.  We’ve moved across the country, became home owners, are still in the process of unpacking…oh yeah and did I mention the 10 week old cutie pie who runs our house?  It’s been a hectic month to say the least.

But we are safe and sound, here in IN.  Casey took his first flight like a champ.  Slept the whole way.  He also slept right through his first thunderstorm, while I, on the other hand, was thrilled by each lightning strike and every roll of thunder.  He’s getting so big!  We’ve outgrown all of our NB clothing and are already far into our 3 month and 3-6 months stash.  He has a pretty decent summer wardrobe (thanks to Grandma C.) of shorts, overalls, and matching sun hats.  His summer wardrobe is way better than mine.  Living in Seattle for 4 years, we had really adapted to the beautiful, mild (and short) summers.  The heat here in the past few weeks hit us like a ton of bricks.  Literally, the humidity made it feel like I was dragging a bag of bricks around with me. We have finally obtained a stroller and while I love carrying Casey in the Ergo or the Baby Bjorn, being in such close contact left us both sweaty and irritable after walks. It’s a much nicer affair for us both with the stroller; much cooler which means we walk for longer. We stalk our neighborhood, discovering new routes during our daily jaunts in the sunshine, and while I make sure to keep Casey’s delicate skin protected, I do believe that I may actually get a decent tan this summer!!!

In other news, Casey is starting to grasp things and hold onto his toys when we put them in his hands.  He does well with both his right and his left hand.  We finally got our Fisher-Price Kick and Play Piano Gym, which I am obsessed with, that has a piano attached to it that plays music when he kicks the keys.  The kid is a strong kicker so needless to say that piano gets a work out.

Here's Casey first discovering his new toy!

Here’s Casey first discovering his new toy!

IMG_1896

Waving that toy all around as he holds onto it!

All in all, life is peaceful these days.  I am truly thankful that we have been given the opportunities that we have and are able to start our life as a family on such stable ground.  As the days pass, I can feel our roots starting to dig down and our foundations settling.  It feels like I have finally found home after years of searching.  Ironic that it’s in a house I couldn’t wait to leave once upon a time. I have a wonderful, supportive husband and a healthy son, whom I adore, who grows and learns so much every day.  We are beginning to make this house our home and while it’s an ongoing project, I look forward to the years ahead: to the changes they bring, the projects that will be undertaken, and the memories that will be made (and hopefully recorded more regularly here).

First family portrait :)

First family portrait 🙂

Cutie Pie smiles all the time now!

Cutie Pie smiles all the time now!

I'm so lucky to have these two guys in my life.

I’m so lucky to have these two guys in my life.

DSCN2675

Until next time…

 

One thought on “Unable to even finish a load of laundry in a day, I know you’ll forgive me for not writing.

Leave a Reply

