I’m too busy doing nothing to do something.

I’ve been trying really hard lately to just live in the moment. Sometimes I find myself too much in my head, thinking about what needs to be done around the house, boxes yet to be unpacked, projects for the yard. It feels like my inner critic is screaming at me sometimes but all it takes is one glance at a tiny hand curled around my finger to remind me to tell her to shut up and leave me be!!

Life is much better this way. Both yesterday and today, I’ve sat in our rocking chair and simply read a book while Casey napped in his crib across the room. I could have moved the baby monitor into his room and done my chores around the house but it has been much more satisfying to simply sit, read, listen to him breath. His breath is so steady, so..natural and unhurried. In and out. In and out. He does so effortlessly what I have to sometimes consciously remind myself to do. In and out. In and out.

This morning he fell asleep in my arms and I could have put him down to finish his nap. My stomach was rumbling as hunger creeped up on me, but he was so peaceful, so comfortable that I couldn’t bring myself to do it. These are the precious moments and I know if I don’t enjoy them fully I will look back one day and regret it. So call me crazy but if you come to visit and there is a sink full of dishes and laundry half folded on the dining room table, picture frames and art leaning up against the wall rather than hanging on it, you will know why. It’s because I’ve been too busy doing nothing to actually do something. And I love it.

Oh and also: Momism #1 (and I think all moms as well as those who have cared for an infant extensively will understand this)
“Anything you can do, I can probably do one handed.”

That is all. Have a wonderful day. Slow down to just breathe and enjoy each and every moment of it.

 

Leave a Reply

