Tastes of Permanence

We have returned from a successful family reunion.  My family is much smaller and more scattered than Alex’s and it was fun spending the weekend immersed in such a joyful melee.  Casey was great.  He didn’t mind being passed around from lap to lap over the course of the weekend. In fact, it wore him out! He took 2-3 naps a day which is way more than he ever naps at home! I ended up bringing way too much stuff for Casey but better that then not enough. He seemed to enjoy and thrive amidst the jumble of people.  All of a sudden over the weekend he has begun to reach out for everything!  He reaches his arms up when you reach down to him and he tries to grab at anything put in front of him.  He’s also begun to actually notice the food that we are eating and reaches out for it!

Reaching out for my iPhone as I take a picture.

Reaching out for my iPhone as I take a picture.

Home now and a feeling of permanence is beginning to set in, finally.  It’s been a mild summer but the days lately have felt cooler bringing with them a subtle reminder of the loveliness of an Indiana fall.  I’ve always loved the fall.  I love the reminder that everything must have a reprieve from the bustle of energy that blooms in the spring and summer.  We all need a time to settle down; return to the warmth and hearth of home and family.  Although we are not there yet, I can feel it on the edge of the wind and it excites and inspired me.

I’ve been making progress in turning our house into a home.  Casey’s room is almost finished.  The last decorations and artwork will be hung this weekend but it is already feeling like a comfortable and fun place for him and I to hang out.  He is sitting up on his own now and I can see the wheels turning in his little body as he works on skills he will need to crawl.  We are almost ready for solid food too and he has begun to show an interest in drinking out of a cup (which would be a godsend because he is a kiddo who will not take a bottle or a pacifier and being able to take milk out of a cup would be a great solution for others being able to feed him.) He had a tiny bit of avocado the other night, sucked off of my finger, and last night we attempted a tiny bit of mashed banana.  He isn’t quite ready for daily solids but it’s fun for all of us to test his reactions to real food and for him to start to experience their tastes and textures.

Beyond that, there isn’t much more to tell.  Time marches on and the days pass all too quickly.  I’ve been reading a lot both for myself and to Casey.  I just finished a book called ‘Moving Target” by Elizabeth Lowell which I enjoyed immensely.  “The Wonder of Boys” by Michael Gurian is on my list to look through next and Casey and I have been enjoying reading “Babar” and “Green Eggs and Ham” in the last few days, although Casey’s idea of reading a book is grabbing for it and trying to tear at the pages or try to eat them which means or reading times aren’t very long.  But he is being read to and that’s what’s important!

Sitting up like a big boy!

Sitting up like a big boy!

Propped up while I put away clothes!

Propped up while I put away clothes!

Sitting with us while we eat dinner.

Sitting with us while we eat dinner.

KISSES!!!

KISSES!!!

Leave a Reply

