Fall, In time.

Fall blows in
with red tipped trees,
with restless nights
and fallen leaves.

Eyes turning blue to brown.
Days turning short.
Winter will follow fall
and you’re like me after all.

Toothless grins will come to an end.
Me heart be still.
Everyday it grows so much stronger
as you exert your tiny will.

Whispered phrases are promises of what’s to come.
Can I hang on to these short days a little longer?
Please, God, I need this time.
My heart can only hold so much at once.
And yet everyday he pushes it
beyond.
Boundaries expanding through exploration and growing love.

Today he laughed as he reached up to my mouth and I kissed his hand. Enamored on my breast.
And he laughed as he grabbed my teeth.

Leave a Reply

