O What a Circus. O What a Show.

We all have them- days when it doesn’t rain, it pours and everything seems to go wrong.  That was my day today; just one thing after another.  Even as I sit here writing this, my cat has just puked on the carpet in my sons room.  He very kindly attempted to cover it up by brushing the carpet around the puke before leaving the room.  I feel affronted that I now have to spend my precious alone time, while Casey naps, to clean this up.

Ok.  That’s done.  Where was I?  Oh yes.  My first mistake was deciding that I could be as productive as yesterday and also that it would be a good idea to go to Walmart.  Ok so two mistakes. I should know by now that it is never a good idea to go to Walmart.  I had three main errands to run today. Three is a bit over reaching, especially with a 10 1/2 month old who has made it emphatically clear that the car seat is his least favorite place to be, wouldn’t you agree?  Anyway, I had to go to the grocery store, I had to get Cat food, and I was set on finding a toy organizer for under $50.  I was going to go to Aldi’s for groceries but I knew they wouldn’t have the kind of cat food we buy and I was thinking of Bed, Bath & Beyond for a toy organizer, until I remembered that they don’t tend to carry children’s things in-store.  Then I had a light bulb moment (obviously a low-watt, non energy-efficient bulb) and thought “Ah-ha!  I shall go to Walmart and kill three birds with one stone.”  I now believe that anytime you find yourself contemplating killing birds with a stone, it is probably a good idea to just stay indoors.

So we get to Walmart.  I asked the employee working in the toy section where I might find a children’s toy organizer.  He looked at me as if I was speaking Swahili and told me I might want to check the furniture department. Bingo! I spot a toy organizer, the last one on the shelf, and the tag on says it’s only $36!  Next, we head to the grocery section.  Of course we don’t really stick to our Aldi’s list and end up putting a few more items than planned into the cart.  Whatever.  The prices at Walmart are a bit more expensive than Aldi’s but way cheaper than the two big grocery store chains that we shop at occasionally.

I will say that Casey was remarkably well behaved the entire time we were cruising around the isles.  He pointed at things, flirted with old women, and enjoyed grabbing the front of the cart and using his little arms to make it shake while I went “earthquake!”

I will also say that as frustrated as I may have gotten today, everyone that we interacted with was super nice, to my great irritation. First of all, the toy organizer rang up as $50, not $36 and when I mentioned this, our check out lady did not know what to do. She asked if she should try ringing it up again?  I did not know.  Then she asked if she should call someone to check?  I asked how long this would take as there was a line of people building up behind me.  “I don’t know,” she said. “I could call to see where she’s at and then have someone run a price check?”  She leaned in conspiratorially.  “To be honest I’ve never rang one of these up.”  The absurdity of this entire exchange was too much for me.  Not knowing who “she” was or where she might be and not wanting to hold up the line or irritate the extremely pleasant older couple behind us who were entertaining Casey, I told her to just finish ringing me up.

After spending $100 more than I planned, I wheeled my cart towards the exit…and realized that I forgot cat food.  Casey was beginning to show signs of restlessness and I wasn’t about to go back now.  I continued out to the parking lot and as we wheeled our cart across the pavement, a woman stopped me.  I assumed she was going to tell me the box the toy organizer was in was coming off the bottom of the cart so I was unprepared when she pointed out that there was something leaking from my cart.  “I think it’s milk. It’s going everywhere!  If I were you I’d go back in and tell them.”  I thanked her politely, feeling my pulse rise, and continued to the car where I used one of casey’s blankets to sop up the milk, rearranged the groceries, threw away the milk carton and managed to get Casey into his car seat.  He began to howl.  He continued to howl as we progressed closer to home and, although I knew I was pushing my luck, I decided that I had nothing to lose by stopping at the pet store to grab cat food.  Which I did.  That part was actually pretty fun because Casey enjoys looking at the fish and birds and as we walked down the isle he pointed to the cat shaped sign hanging from the ceiling.  “What sounds does a cat make?” I asked.  He grinned as I meowed.  We’ve played that game before.

We made it home, although Casey cried the whole way home at the injustice of being strapped in for his safety.  I managed to unload the groceries and assemble the toy organizer and even got most of our toys organized in it, before Casey needed to go down for a nap, although in the meantime the Surface tablet that Alex got me for Christmas stopped working and now it will not turn on, despite being plugged in.  I’m hoping that some time alone will fix this so I’m ignoring it for the time being.

Finally I sat down to write.  Then the cat puked.  Then, as I continued writing, a gigantic stink bug seemed to fly out of no where and began to buzz around the room.  I saved my work, closed my computer and attempted to use it as a fly swatter to bat the bug to the ground.  This irritated the bug who flew right at me!  I let out an involuntary yelp as I ducked out of the way and ran out of the room towards Alex’s office, which propelled him out of his chair to see what was wrong, all of which woke Casey up.

Alex got the bug and I managed to get Casey asleep again and now here I am.

In retrospect, this doesn’t seem like such a bad day.  At the time, it felt like a dark cloud was hovering over me, putting a damper on an otherwise beautiful day.  The rest of the week has been so great, that this run of ill luck seemed all the more irritating.  Monday, we walked around the mall with Briana and her kiddos again.  Tuesday was the most productive day I’ve had in a long time.  I organized our hall closet, collected all of the Christmas and baby stuff to be stored downstairs, did 4 loads of laundry (wash, dried and folded), cleaned the kitchen, made dinner and got Casey down for two whole naps!  Perhaps I got too cocky, thinking that I could carry on such momentum.  Maybe my karma was off.  Either way, once we made it home, I reminded myself that this was a good opportunity to get out of my own way and just let it all slide off my shoulders; to act rather than react.  Rather than letting myself get stifled down by a bad mood, I attempted to get out of my head through the monotony of putting the groceries away, putting the shelf together, filling the bins with toys, and rocking Casey to sleep.  And you know what?  It worked.  I feel better.  Getting out of my own way and not getting bogged down feeling sorry for myself allowed me to move on.  Writing helped.  It’s all kind of funny now.  Life will go on, the food we spent extra $$ on will get eaten and hopefully the toys will stay somewhat organized now (yeah right).  No use crying over spilled milk.

Enough cliches.  Here are some pictures.

IMG_4296

He has a new passion for our records which means we moved them out of his reach.

IMG_4300

This child can get away with anything with this look.

IMG_4312

That time I put together an early Valentine’s Day sensory tray. Here Casey is madly shaking the plastic V-Day mardi gras type necklaces.

IMG_4369

That time (Monday) that we matched.

IMG_4372

IMG_4380 Lovin the Bongos.

IMG_4394

My Monkey

IMG_4400

Spaghetti dinner.

IMG_4392

Leave a Reply

