My Poppy

(Thinking of a friend on her birthday)  

She flung herself open

IMG_6296for you, for me

the bursting of her blossom

an offering.

 

The pressure of her will

was the only thing needed

to throw off her bulbous

shell, in silent declaration.

 

She burst forth, not

for you or for me.

But of her own design, she

fluttered the antebellum petals

of her dressing and turned

herself, waiting

to be touched by light.

 

 

IMG_6293

IMG_6306 This morning, I woke up to find that the oriental poppy I planted in my front garden had opened.  Not shyly, like tulips, who reveal themselves slowly as the sunshine sweetens the deal.  No, the Poppy simply opened- Bam! Yesterday a tight green bud and this morning, full regalia.

Leave a Reply

