Pantoum & Self-Promotion

Some of you may know, or have discovered by poking around my blog, that I enjoy writing poetry.  One summer during elementary school, I remember we were assigned to create a short booklet of original poems and illustrations.  I wrote poems about the ocean and grilling out and eating corn and drew pictures to go with them all.  My mother shared my work with one of our neighbors, who was so taken with the poetry of my 5th grade mind that she gifted me with a notebook, including a sweet note to continue my writing.  I still have that notebook and it is full of poems written during my teenage years.

I have found myself increasingly inspired by the poetic form of late.  Some days it’s as if the words just appear in my head and it’s all I can do to find paper and a pen (or marker, or crayon) and write them down as quickly as I can.   I’ve kept a second blog for a while now, devoted solely to exploring my poetic voice.  You can find the link to the right of the screen, along with a list of recent posts, or you can simply click through here.  I’ve thought about combining the two blogs but I like keeping them separate; they are explorations of two different voices within me.

I often, but not always, go back and edit and rework my original catharsis, resulting sometimes in comfortable, well-crafted poems, and sometimes in a chaotic mix of words, unconcerned with form. Recently, I was introduced to the Pantoum- a poem of any length, composed of four-line stanzas in which the second and fourth lines of each stanza serve as the first and third lines of the next stanza and the last line of a Pantoum is often the same as the first.  I have come to love this poetic form, precisely because it imposes a form first rather than coming up with the words and then working to shape them. Using the predetermined form of the Pantoum also forces me, as a writer, to slow down and think more creatively, always moving two steps forward and one step back.

Anyway, I wrote my first Pantoum and although I am not posting it on The Casey Chronicle, I am really inspired by the form and wanted to share it.  Feel free to click through and read my first Pantoum: Mother Mother.  (For Charlotte- WARNING- you may want a kleenex at hand)

A quick note about the name of my poetry blog Do You Want Cheese with that Wine: My cousin Ellen always used to say that to me when I was a little girl and began to wine about something (probably not getting my way {haha, me?}).  I’ve always loved this retort as it made me smile during times when I was otherwise unhappy and when I started this second blog, I wasn’t sure if it was going to be dedicated to poetry or simply a place to vent in a nonlinear form.

Ok enough self-promotion.  Feel free to follow my other blog or just check in on it from time to time through the links to the right.  Thanks!

Leave a Reply

