Almost Ready

Wild and free
–I once was.
blonde tendrils blowing in the wind
as I ran.

I raise my shaking hands
tentatively,
but only half way.
I am not ready today.

Not too long ago I stood
upon a hill and I felt
cold wind rush by me
felt it blow my crust off
and my soul open up
releasing one soft layer,
one wild smile at a time.

Freedom.
How can I find that release
–that wild, free spirit
in the ordinary everyday?
Where is freedom in this life?
Where is wildness?

Moments escape before we are ready.
And each day I raise my hands a bit higher
almost ready today.

Leave a Reply

